International Competition for a composition of sacred music
Fourth edition, 2018

Dear Friends,

We are pleased to announce that the jury has selected the three scores admitted to the Finals of the IV edition of the «FRANCESCO SICILIANI» PRIZE, awarded for a new composition of sacred music. The selection has been particularly challenging, given the high qualitative standard of the scores submitted from more than one continent. We would like to thank all those who have taken part in a competition which, thanks also to the patronage of the Pontifical Council for Culture, is becoming an increasingly important point of reference for the creation of new sacred music, as well as an authoritative point of observation for those who reflect on the pathways followed by contemporary composers in this repertoire.
The finalists of this latest edition of the Prize are Steven Heelein, Antonio Eros Negri and Andrea Buonavitacola.
Their scores will be performed by the St Jacob’s Chamber Choir, conducted by Gary Graden, Saturday 15th September in the Basilica di San Francesco in Assisi during the course of a concert for the 73rd Sagra Musicale Umbra.
The overall winner will be announced at the close of the concert, together with two symbolic prizes, the one assigned by the public, the other by the music critics present at the concert.

Further information about the 4th edition below:

After the success of the first three editions between 2012 and 2016, with a total of over 550 scores received from all over the world, the organizers announce for 2018 the Fourth International Competition for a composition of sacred music “Francesco Siciliani” Prize, promoted jointly by the Fondazione Perugia Musica Classica Onlus, the Sagra Musicale Umbra Festival and the Pontifical Council for Culture, chaired by Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi. The Competition has as its object a composition on a set text for unaccompanied choir, or for choir with organ accompaniment, for a duration between five (5) and fifteen (15) minutes. The candidate must set in its entirety the text of the Gloria. The Competition is open to candidates of any nationality, without any age limit. The deadline for receiving scores is fixed for June 1st 2018.

As two years ago, besides the option of dispatch by post, the scores can also be uploaded, from December 20th 2017, directly onto the Foundation’s website by following a procedure specially designed to encourage participation on a large scale and to reduce the costs of consignment.

The international Jury for 2018 is chaired by Salvatore Sciarrino, and is made up by Peter Philips, conductor and founder of The Tallis Scholars; Gary Graden, Music Director of Stockholm Cathedral and the St Jacob’s Chamber Choir; Filippo Maria Bressan, orchestral and choral conductor; and Alberto Batisti, Artistic Director of the Fondazione Perugia Musica Classica Onlus – Sagra Musicale Umbra. Artistic secretary is the composer and music critic Marcello Filotei.

The final concert will take place on 15th September 2018 in Assisi in the Upper Basilica of San Francesco as part of the 73th Sagra Musicale Umbra. The St Jacob’s Chamber Choir of Stockholm, conducted by Gary Graden, will perform the three works admitted to the Finals, after which the Jury will announce the First Prize. The composer of the winning work will be awarded a Prize of Euro five thousand (€5.000). It is envisaged to award two further Prizes of a symbolic nature, one assigned by the public present at the concert, the other by the music critics.
Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi, promoter and supporter of the Competition, will be present at the final concert to award the Prize to the Competition winner.

Click here to read and download the regulations governing the International Competition for a composition of sacred music “Francesco Siciliani” Prize.

For information:
Fondazione Perugia Musica Classica Onlus
Piazza del Circo 6 – 06121 Perugia (Italy)
Tel. +39. 075. 572 22 71

Pin It on Pinterest