+39 075 572 22 71 info@perugiamusicaclassica.com


International Competition for a Composition of sacred music
Fifth edition, 2020

After the success of the first three editions between 2012 and 2018, with a total of over 650 scores received from all over the world, the organizers announce for 2020 the Fifth International Competition for a composition of sacred music “Francesco Siciliani” Prize, promoted jointly by the Fondazione Perugia Musica Classica Onlus, the Sagra Musicale Umbra Festival and the Pontifical Council for Culture, chaired by Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi. The Competition has as its object a composition on a set text for unaccompanied choir, or for choir with organ accompaniment, for a duration between five (5) and fifteen (15) minutes. The candidate must set in its entirety the text of the Sanctus. The Competition is open to candidates of any nationality, without any age limit. The deadline for receiving scores is fixed for June 1st 2020.
As two years ago, besides the option of dispatch by post, the scores can also be uploaded, from December 20th 2019, directly onto the Foundation’s website by following a procedure specially designed to encourage participation on a large scale and to reduce the costs of consignment.

The international Jury for 2020 is chaired by the composer Giorgio Battistelli and  is formed by Gary Graden (choral director at S:t Jacobs Chamber Choir), Paweł Łukaszewski (composer and director of the  Musica Sacra Warsaw-Praga Cathedral Choir),  Lorenzo Donati (composer and director of the Coro della Cattedrale di Siena “Guido Chigi Saracini”) and Marcello Filotei (composer, music critic for L’Osservatore Romano and Artistic Secretary of the competition).

The final concert will take place on 19th September 2020 in Assisi in the Upper Basilica of San Francesco as part of the 75th Sagra Musicale Umbra. The Choir of the Cathedral of Siena “Guido Chigi Saracini” conducted bv Lorenzo Donati, will perform the three works admitted to the Finals, after which the Jury will announce the First Prize. The composer of the winning work will be awarded a Prize of Euro five thousand (€5.000). The audience will be able to express its opinion by means of an electronic vote and the music critics will award a mention of merit.
Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi, promoter and supporter of the Competition, will be present at the final concert to award the Prize to the Competition winner.

Fondazione Perugia Musica Classica Onlus
Piazza del Circo, 6 06121 Perugia
C.FISC. 80053780542
P.IVA 02673290546

Amministrazione trasparente


tel. +39 075 572 22 71
fax +39 075 572 52 64

Fondazione Perugia Musica Classica 2020